eu enlargement - britain's open borders


From 1 May, immigrants from the ten new EU members — Cyprus, Poland, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia and Malta — will all be allowed to work in Britain. Every other EU member except Ireland is imposing controls, which funnels would-be migrants towards Britain.

In response to public pressure, Blair is promising to withhold state benefits from these new immigrants. This is another one of his scams. Central government may not have to pay more from its funds, but local authorities will be legally obliged to provide housing, welfare benefits and education — which will mean council tax rises. (See also "A modern slave trade", p16)